Schenker: the masterwork in music: a yearbook. Volume 3, 1930

Schenker, Heinrich, Drabkin, William (ed.) (1997) Schenker: the masterwork in music: a yearbook. Volume 3, 1930, Cambridge, UK, Cambridge University Press (Cambridge Studies in Music Theory and Analysis 10).


Full text not available from this repository.


The third and final volume of Masterwork embraces all three types of essay, but is in reality dominated by the most detailed and, for many, the most celebrated of all of Schenker’s studies of single works: the analysis of Beethoven’s Eroica Symphony. All four movements are discussed and graphed in detail; the surrounding commentary on the history of theory, and of contemporary culture, is related in a general way to the central analytical study

Item Type: Book
Additional Information: Translated by Ian Bent, Alfred Clayton & Derrick Puffett
ISBNs: 052145543 (hardback)
9780521455435 (hardback)
Related URLs:
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > ML Literature of music
Divisions : University Structure - Pre August 2011 > School of Humanities > Music
ePrint ID: 69391
Accepted Date and Publication Date:
Date Deposited: 03 Nov 2009
Last Modified: 31 Mar 2016 12:57

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item