Mozart Requiem K626 - a New Completion

(2011) Mozart Requiem K626 - a New Completion

Full text not available from this repository.

Description/Abstract:In December 1791 Mozart died, leaving five of the fourteen sections of the Requiem unwritten or incomplete. This new completion envisions a bridge existing between 1791 and the ‘New Classicism’ proposed during the 1920s, and in no small way indebted to Mozart, by Busoni and others. On that bridge, between Mozart and Busoni stand the figures of Schubert, Beethoven, Bruckner, Schoenberg.

Conducted by Michael Finnissy, with Matthew Brook (bass-baritone) as Mozart.

Specially-assembled choir and orchestra: guest principals, University of Southampton Music Department staff and students, and members of Southampton University Symphony Orchestra.
Item Type:Music Item - Performance
Additional Information:World premiere
Date:20 November 2011
ePrint ID:339738

Associated Staff Only: edit my ePrint