A reflection on collaborative adaptation research in Africa and Asia


Cochrane, Logan, Cundill, Georgina, Ludi, Eva, New, Mark, Nicholls, Robert, Wester, Phillipus, Cantin, Bernard, Subrammanyam Murali, Kallur, Leone, Michele, Kituyi, Evans and Landry, Marie-Eve (2017) A reflection on collaborative adaptation research in Africa and Asia Regional Environmental Change

Download

[img] Other CARIAA Synthesis of Academic Outputs_Mar2017 - Accepted Manuscript
Restricted to Repository staff only until 15 June 2018.
Available under License University of Southampton Accepted Manuscript Licence.

Download (181kB)

Description/Abstract

The reality of global climate change demands novel approaches to science that are reflective of the scales at which changes are likely to occur, and of the new forms of knowledge required to positively influence policy to support vulnerable populations. We examine some of the opportunities and challenges presented by a collaborative, transdisciplinary research project on climate change adaptation in Africa and Asia that utilised a hotspot approach. A large scale effort to develop appropriate baselines was a key challenge at the outset of the program, as was the need to develop innovative methodologies to enable researchers to work at appropriate spatial scales. Efforts to match research to the biophysical scales at which change occurs need to be aware of the mismatch that can develop between these regional scales and the governance scales at which decisions are made.

Item Type: Article
Additional Information: Logan Cochrane, International Development Research Centre, Ottawa, Canada lcochrane@idrc.ca Georgina Cundill, International Development Research Centre, Ottawa, Canada gkemp@idrc.ca Eva Ludi, Overseas Development Institute, London, UK e.ludi@odi.org.uk Mark New, African Climate and Development Initiative, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa mark.new@uct.ac.za Philippus Wester, International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD), Kathmandu, Nepal Philippus.Wester@icimod.org Bernard Cantin, International Development Research Centre, Ottawa, Canada bcantin@idrc.ca Kallur Subrammanyam Murali, International Development Research Centre, New Delhi, India kmurali@idrc.ca Michele Leone, International Development Research Centre, Nairobi, Kenya mleone@idrc.ca Evans Kituyi, International Development Research Centre, Nairobi, Kenya ekituyi@idrc.ca Marie-Eve Landry, International Development Research Centre, Ottawa, Canada mlandry@idrc.ca
ISSNs: 1436-3798 (print)
Keywords: Climate change; adaptation; collaborative research; hotspots
Organisations: Energy & Climate Change Group
ePrint ID: 406754
Date :
Date Event
15 March 2017Accepted/In Press
Date Deposited: 22 Mar 2017 02:07
Last Modified: 16 Apr 2017 17:04
Further Information:Google Scholar
URI: http://eprints.soton.ac.uk/id/eprint/406754

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item